Why Do You Enjoy Cooking?

DanCole42

Why do you enjoy cooking? I love to eat, sure, and eating the fruits (or vegetables) of my labors is a reward in and of itself. But for most people I think there's something more.

For me it's about control.

I'm a manager in my day job. That means that I tell other people what to do. These people have advanced technical degrees and can do a lot of things I can't.

However, many of them don't perform at 100%, and as someone who always aims for perfection it's exceedingly frustrating for me to lack the permission or expertise to jump in and get it done. "If you want something done right, you have to do it yourself," but it can be very paralyzing if for whatever reason you CAN'T do it yourself.

I'm left with a terrible feeling of impotence and loss of control. I've heard stress defined as "that which is caused when your goals and your resources to achieve those goals do not match up." I can definitely understand that.

But when I'm cooking, I have complete control. Start to finish. I know exactly what I want and I know how to achieve it. I have the knowledge and equipment to get it done and get it done right, and I'm not dependent on anyone else for success (or failure). Everything rest on my shoulders and it's extremely satisfying to operate in the kitchen with that sense of potency, competence, and control.

The only resources I need to achieve my goals are my own.

What about you?

The KMango Genetic Package did not include the following abilities:

*Singing

*Musical Instruments

*Drawing

*Painting

*Sculpting

However, through a series of upgrades and hard-won negotiations, the package evolved to include cooking as an art form. The indulgence of infinite possibilities, sacrosanctness of an unrepeatable composition, and the allure of plate as canvas are the draw for me.

It's a good thing other people are around to feed, too. That's kind of nice. :(