Fish and Chips

I've been browsing the site for a few months now and have thoroughly enjoyed reading about all the restaurants in the area and found the site to be very informative.

I just did a search and couldn't find anything so I thought I'd ask if people knew where to get some good Fish & Chips in DC if possible.

My father is going to be here. I know he'd love it if I took him for a fish fry on a Friday (he's pretty Catholic). Where can you get fish and chips on Fridays aside from Eamonn's? ('m predicting my father will hassle me about driving over the bridge and wonder why we can't find it in the District.

My father is going to be here. I know he'd love it if I took him for a fish fry on a Friday (he's pretty Catholic). Where can you get fish and chips on Fridays aside from Eamonn's? ('m predicting my father will hassle me about driving over the bridge and wonder why we can't find it in the District.
How about Hanks ?

It has been a number of years and the setting was not the restaurant (so take it with a grain of salt), but the second best fish and chips I've had in the area (aside from Eamonn's of course) were at the DC Food Festival booth of Biddy Mulligan's, which is in one of the hotels on Dupont Circle.

If anyone ahs any more recent experiences, feel free to shoot this suggestion down.

My Irish co-workers says that used to be the Irish part of town (hard to believe there used to be homes in that area, isn't it?).

I

There have been Irish saloons in that part of Washington since before the Civil War. The area was called 'Swampoodle' for years, and the Washington Nationals had a ballyard called 'Swampoodle Grounds' where Union Station is today. Notwithstanding, I recall that a few of today's pubs on the Senate side were established in the early to mid-1970s, and provided a small taste of Boston to many an Irish Member of Congress and staffers requiring a wee drop of the nectar before heading home.

Duffy's does a lovely fish and chips.